Book Review: Not the Duke’s Darling by Elizabeth Hoyt

Reviewed by Nikyta

Title: Not the Duke’s Darling
Author: Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Greycourt #1
Hero/Heroine: Christopher/Freya
Genre: M/F Historical Romance
Length: 496 pages
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: Decemeber 18. 2018
Available at: Amazon
Add it to your shelf: Goodreads

Blurb: From the New York Times bestselling author of the Maiden Lane series comes the first book in a new series that “marries her irresistibly witty writing style with an intrigue-steeped plot,”(Booklist) perfect for fans of Tessa Dare and Eloisa James.

Freya de Moray is many things: a member of the secret order of Wise Women, the daughter of disgraced nobility, and a chaperone living under an assumed name. What she is not is forgiving. So when the Duke of Harlowe, the man who destroyed her brother and led to the downfall of her family, appears at the country house party she’s attending, she does what any Wise Woman would do: she starts planning her revenge.

Christopher Renshaw, the Duke of Harlowe, is being blackmailed. Intent on keeping his secrets safe, he agrees to attend a house party where he will put an end to this coercion once and for all. Until he recognizes Freya, masquerading among the party revelers, and realizes his troubles have just begun. Freya knows all about his sins-sins he’d much rather forget. But she’s also fiery, bold, and sensuous-a temptation he can’t resist. When it becomes clear Freya is in grave danger, he’ll risk everything to keep her safe. But first, he will have to earn Freya’s trust…by whatever means necessary.

Features the bonus novella Patience for Christmas from New York Times bestselling author Grace Burrowes!

blogger_bee_trans

Review:

Elizabeth Hoyt is my ALL TIME favorite historical romance author!  I’ve read everything published under the Elizabeth Hoyt name and will continue to read everything published under that name.  Not the Duke’s Darling, however, is not my favorite Elizabeth Hoyt book.  Greycourt will not be one of my favorites series either.  It looks like the whole series will be set surrounding the Night of the Greycourt Tragedy, and I do not AT ALL like what that tragedy involves.  Plus, the story and characters are almost completely forgettable.  

I knew I was going to struggle from the very beginning.  There were so many characters introduced at the house party that I spent way too much time going back and rereading trying to keep them all straight.  

I do like enemies to lover trope and l liked Christopher and Freya together, but I did struggle with their past issues and found it hard to forgive.  Still, they are forgettable.  

Yes, I will read the next book if it ever releases.  It is Elizabeth Hoyt after-all. 

Overall Impression: It was good

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in return for a fair and honest review.*

Categories: 3 Star Ratings, Book Review, M/F, Published in 2018 | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: