Posts Tagged With: Series – Anita Blake Vampire Hunter

Giveaway Winner!

It’s time to pick a giveaway winner! Yay!!!

 

So, the winner of a print copy of Serpentine isContinue reading

Categories: Giveaways | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Book Review: Serpentine by Laurell K. Hamilton

Reviewed by JustJen

Title: Serpentine
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #26
Heroes: Anita Blake
Genre: MF Paranormal
Length: 512 Pages
Publisher: Penguin USA
Release Date: August 8, 2018
Available at: Amazon and Barnes & Noble
Add it to your shelf: Goodreads

Blurb: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns for her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. ‘A hardcore guilty pleasure’ – The Times Anita Blake faces new, even deadlier enemies as she and the people she loves confront major changes in their lives…

Vampire hunter Anita Blake has managed to overcome everything she faces. But this time there’s a monster that even she doesn’t know how to fight…

A remote Florida island is the perfect wedding destination for the upcoming nuptials of Anita’s fellow U.S. Marshal and best friend Edward. For Anita, the vacation is a welcome break, as it’s the first trip she gets to take with just wereleopards Micah and Nathaniel. But it’s not all fun and games and bachelor parties…

In this tropical paradise, Micah discovers a horrific new form of lycanthropy, one that has afflicted a single family for generations. Believed to be the result of an ancient Greek curse, it turns human bodies into a mass of snakes.

When long-simmering resentment leads to a big blowout within the wedding party, the last thing Anita needs is more drama. But it finds her anyway when women start disappearing from the hotel, and worse–her own friends and lovers are considered the prime suspects. There’s a strange power afoot that Anita has never confronted before, a force that’s rendering those around her helpless in its thrall. Unable to face it on her own, Anita is willing to accept help from even the deadliest places. Help that she will most certainly regret–if she survives at all, that is…
Continue reading

Categories: 4 Star Ratings, Book Review, JustJen's Reviews, LGBT, M/F, Published in 2018 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Author Q&A: Laurell K. Hamilton + Giveaway!

Interview Banner

How did the idea for the plot of SERPENTINE come to you?

From years of reading and loving the Greek and Roman myths, but as often happens when I decide to pick something I know a lot about as my fictional jumping off point, I learned far more than expected about a topic I thought I knew pretty well. The wedding and character interplay was from the characters themselves interweaving with the mystery.

When did you know you were going to set SERPENTINE in the Florida Keys?  Did you visit the setting in order to conduct research?

I thought Serpentine was going to be a very different book set on a distant tropical island, but when Edward’s wedding was being set there he, the character, nixed that idea, and after all it was his wedding not mine. The original plot didn’t have the new form of lycanthropy in it. It had a different mystery and a different supernatural element. No, I won’t tell you what they are, because you’ll be seeing them in a later book. Yes, I visited the Florida Keys before I set the book there. I haven’t written about any place that I haven’t visited at least once, and I try for more than just that. For me as a writer I find that I always learn more if I can walk the streets, look at the sights, hear, feel, taste, touch as much of a location as possible. I know that other writers seem to do great with just book and online research, but I’m not one of them.

Did anything you discovered in doing your research for this book surprise you?

What research surprised me most? That the Florida Keys where the majority of Serpentine is set was so damn beautiful. I had no idea we had any place in the United States that was truly a tropical paradise until I drove over that first bridge and saw it stretched out before me.

What did you find most challenging about writing SERPENTINE?

Honestly, the insecurities that can haunt all writers. I thought once you hit #1 and reached a certain career success that it would go away, but there’s something about sitting down to that blank white paper/screen that invites all your personal demons to visit. It calls your muse, too, but sometimes the muse has to fight their way through the inner demons, before you can hear them.

Who was your favorite character to write in SERPENTINE?

Anita Blake, she’s been my first person viewpoint from the beginning. If I didn’t love seeing the world through her eyes I don’t think we’d be talking about number 26. I enjoyed writing Bernardo Spotted-Horse in this book. He surprised me and Anita with some new depths of character. It was great to see Edward’s family on stage again, including both kids. Peter is nineteen now so legally an adult. I liked him being more grownup and then having the things he hasn’t learned come up to bite him. I remember nineteen, it’s confusing as hell.

What do you do to celebrate when you finish writing a book?

What do I do to celebrate when I finish writing a book? Nothing. I’ve never celebrated completion of a novel. I just get to go back to my life and spend time with my friends and family who haven’t seen much of me in months.

Continue reading

Categories: Author Q&A, Book Promo, Giveaways, M/F, Published in 2018 | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Book Review: Jason by Laurell K. Hamilton

Reviewed by JustJen

1Title: Jason
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #23
Heroes: Jason Schuyler
Genre: Paranormal
Length: 304 Pages
Publisher: Jove
Release Date: December 2, 2014
Available at: Penguin Group/Jove, Amazon and Barnes & Noble
Add it to your shelf: Goodreads

Blurb:  “Enjoying pain with your pleasure is something you either get, or you don’t. If you get it, then you don’t really need it explained, because you know how good it feels, and if you don’t get it then no amount of talking is going to convince you it makes sense.”

But sometimes you have to explain the unexplainable, especially if the love of your life needs to understand, or she’ll leave you. Jason Schuyler is one of Anita Blake’s best friends and favorite werewolves, with benefits. J.J. is his lady love, an old flame from childhood who dances at one of the top ballet companies in New York. She’s accomplished, beautiful, and she’s crazy about him, too. Neither of them wants to be monogamous, so what could go wrong?

J.J. is enthusiastically bisexual, with an emphasis on the female side of things. She plans to keep sleeping with women, because Jason can’t meet that need, just like she can’t meet Jason’s need for rough sex and bondage. J.J. doesn’t understand why Jason isn’t content to go elsewhere for a need she can’t fulfil, so Jason asks Anita to help him explain.

Anita is having her own relationship growing pains with her only female lover ever, Jade. Jason suggests that J.J. might be able to help Anita with her girl problem, while she helps him with his kinky explanations. With some encouragement from a few other lovers in Anita’s life she reluctantly agrees, and J. J. makes plans to fly into town for an experience that none of them will ever forget.
Continue reading

Categories: 2.5 Star Ratings, Book Review, JustJen's Reviews, LGBT, M/F, Published in 2014 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment